It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 11:02 am

SOTM tips and suggestions ( how to do an arrangement) 
Master Contributor
Master Contributor

Post SOTM tips and suggestions ( how to do an arrangement)
Thought I would add this topic to generate discussion about doing Stick arranging for Stick songs in general.

Im no expert on the stick but do arranging for Jazz groups of all sizes. ( You download my CD "What If" at robgellner.com Shameless plug) Arranging for stick and bands has a lot of similarity so Ill share what I do. Please add your thoughts , tips and suggestions as well.

-Pick a tune you like.
-Sleep with the tune. Sing it in your head and out loud to get a feel for how you want it to sound. -Sing into a voice recording app if that helps.
-Search out piano music or other written music as reference material.
-Download your song and Youtube search the song you want by as many people as you can. All the influences of the various people will influence your tune. This will make your tune YOUR tune.
-Use apps like the amazing slow downer or Capo or other apps that show you chord progressions and let you slow tunes down to hear better some of the parts
-Use IReal B app for more chord progression options. A great resource for me.
-Memorize the changes and visualize the changes as you "hear" your song in your head. That way when you play you will be able to do the changes easier. I usually do this when I going to sleep or have some dead time. Just going over in my head what Im going to play.
-Start practicing. I find that a drum beat from beat buddy or a drum machine helps guide how the tune will go. Swing or straight, funk or disco beats will shape your tune. I use Logic Pro X Drummer for a lot of my songs and it sounds great to me.
-Determine best and most comfortable places on the stick to play. This is the most fun for me and helps me learn the stick the most. Exploring the neck is a lot of fun.
-Record your self and adjust things if you need to.