It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 4:43 pm

Infinity 
Resident Contributor
Resident Contributor

Post Infinity
Hey guys,

I have a ten string. It's got 250 notes on it. It follows that the possible combinations of notes within the span of two hands practically infinite.

Therefore, it will take an infinite amount of time to master the instrument.

Obvious, really. I've been playing for thirty years and six months, and have felt impatient at times, and retarded at others, wondering when I was ever going to get good at this thing we call The Stick.

Patience. The pedagogy is as new as the instrument.

I feel like I could have learned everything I know how to do in five years, not thirty, if it had been condensed down into a curriculum. But I didn't have that luxury, and working fulltime for these decades has put limits on what I can achieve.

Patience.

R

Fri Apr 13, 2018 4:22 am
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Infinity
I share your pain , frustration. They more I play out the more I think I dont know, then I think why dont I know this, dont waste time etc etc etc. Tricky conundrum , we do what we can. :cry:

Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:08 am
Profile My Photo Gallery
Master Contributor
Master Contributor

I look at it as a constant learning curve. The more I practice and time I spend the more I learn. That I think is the addictive part for me. Of course the more I learn the more I realize I’ve got a long way to go. It’s about the journey anyway right? Even the masters haven’t mastered the instrument fully but mostly. Or they are really good at covering up any blunders

Maple SG12 #6914 Classic Tuning
Website robgellner.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChuob7 ... bmRsfgswJQ

Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:18 am
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Maurice Ravel often spoke of his unceasing strive for technical perfection stating:

"I can strive unceasingly to this end, since I am certain of never being able to attain it. The important thing is to get nearer to it all the time.”