It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 4:23 pm

Making the Stick be your ONLY instrument 
Resident Contributor
Resident Contributor

Post Making the Stick be your ONLY instrument
Hey guys,

I've played a lot of instruments over the years - guitar, the percussion family including tabla. Drum set, bass guitar, piano. I once specialized on vibes and marimba. I've done some conga work too.

Over the last six years I've been playing a lot of Stick, and for a few years I also played keyboards along with that. Keyboards (thanks to mallet percussion) gave me a mental map of tones that was great for quickly visualizing melodies and harmonies.

But I found that going to keyboards for realizing melodies and harmonies was not serving my Stick playing. I wound up only being able to realize bass lines quickly on Stick, and I wanted more.

So a couple of years ago I took the plunge and used only Stick for melody, harmony, and bass. It has paid off. I'm getting better, faster, at Stick. My fingers are more fluid, and my imagination has put down some roots on the fingerboard. It'll take the rest of my life of course to fully realize this, but I made the right choice.

The Stick is now the lens through which I view all of music.

(I watched a couple of Evelyn Glennie videos on Youtube, and it shook my resolve. She is the definition of a multi-instrumentalist, and is gloriously persuing her vision. It made me want to do what she's doing, but I'm getting over it. I'm going the opposite way.)

R

Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:11 am
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Making the Stick be your ONLY instrument
Interesting. I'm a bit the same though I've only ever played guitar in varying styles. 6 years ago I decided to really just play STICK.
I love guitar stuff , but I cant do everything with the time I have and just playing & playing & playing as much as I can , which is not enough, has been invaluable.