It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:20 am

Ten Hands & The Gone Men 
Resident Contributor
Resident Contributor

Post Ten Hands & The Gone Men
Hey guys,

One of my all-time favorite bands was (is again) Ten Hands. Gary Muller, Stick player extraordinaire, handled the low end. But there was a band before that, with many of the same players, called The Gone Men. I just found a video of them. Only saw them live, once, in passing, on the old Fry St, in Denton TX, 1985. Here's a video of them jamming in their house.

I studied with Gary in '87, and again in '96.

Here's the video:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRjUEF3iv4Y[/youtube]

Paul Slavens on piano, & Matt Chamberlain on drums.

Paul & Gary & the rest of the Ten Hands guys are back together. Matt spent one season as the Saturday Night Live drummer, played with the New Bohemians, and has had a stunning career with folks like Seal & David Bowie.

R

Last edited by rodan07 on Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mon Mar 09, 2015 10:04 am
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post Re: Ten Hands & The Gone Men
I enjoyed this video and recall Matt speaking of Ten Hands but never got a chance to see it in action - thanks for sharing this!

Matt Chamberlain, right?

<namedropping>
Inclined gigged with Edie down at the Bacchanal down in SD back in the day and as well with Critterz Buggin up in Hollywood. Those were the only times I got quality time with him. While I haven't spoken with him in years, I recall enough that he was a genuinely friendly person.
</namedropping>

Wallflowers, Dylan, Edie, Soundgarden - Matt has quite the resume and is quite capable to say the least.

Mon Mar 09, 2015 12:40 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery
Resident Contributor
Resident Contributor