It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 3:59 am

Better learning materials for Stick and NS/Stick players 

Post Better learning materials for Stick and NS/Stick players
All,

Hello. I'm mainly a guitarist who picked up an NS/Stick and I'm having some difficulty learning it. Sure you can use bass books or try to use guitar licks on the NS/Stick and this works to some degree, but then you mainly have an expensive guitar/bass that is underutilized and sounds worse than just playing a guitar and bass separately in a looper or multi-track.

For me the point of a stick is about learning the performance techniques which are different from other instruments.

OK. So why the trouble?

Well, for me, and maybe others are the same, there is not a lot of self study material (particularly for NS/Stick).

I'm not quick enough to take real-time lessons from someone via skype, and there just isn't anything out there like there is for guitar.

For example, for guitar there are multitudes of high quality tutorial formats that are really pretty good. For example,

1. http://www.riffinteractive.com/ - this site has an interactive experience that is top notch including videos, tab, midi, etc to let you see what is going on in the theme.

Imagine if Don Schiff or Greg made a couple of these for NS/Stick??? That would be awesome, and I would certainly pay $30-$50 for each of them. Perhaps others would too.

2. http://www.truefire.com/ - this site has a boatload of material available at varying degrees of complexity. Minimally you get MP3s and PDFs, but in other cases they have power tab, etc.

What prevents such instruction from being available to NS/Stick players? Lack of interest? Lack of tools?

Am I the only one who'd like to see some standalone instruction or, heaven forbid, a dedicated book?