It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:17 am

Thumb placement 

Post Thumb placement
I'm curious as to whether any others of you find it more comfortable to leave your thumbs up and floating over the fretboard vs. resting on the beveled surface on the back of the stick. When keeping my thumb on the beveled edge as Free Hands suggests, it seems like an uncomfortable reach with my fingers to get all the way across to the highest pitch strings in each register and I can't arch my fingers enough to clear adjacent strings. Part of that may be that I have smallish hands, but I'm also playing an older mid 80's version standard 10 string so it's not a wide fretboard either. Any disadvantages to playing in that way? I'm still a rank novice at this point and aside from a few month long stint when I got my stick about 8-9 years ago, I really just started digging into it again back in December.

Wed Apr 28, 2021 9:51 am
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Thumb placement
As a passing comment, Where you have your elbow / forearm positioned makes a difference. If you keep it tucked in all the time. It’s going to be harder to place your fingers. Greg Howard has a good ergonomics lesson he does at seminars etc. It’s probably worth an online lesson with him on that issue. He can give you some good guidance that might take you a while to discover on your own.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:13 am
Master Contributor
Master Contributor

I think that your thumb or a finger should always be in contact with the stick. It grounds you. It’s like a safety line in space. If you get detached you might find you way back or you might get lost. Keeping a digit on the stock at all times stops you from losing your spot and missing notes. Someone posted the Rachel Flowers a blind Stickist keeps herself grounded and never gets lost.

Maple SG12 #6914 Classic Tuning
Website robgellner.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChuob7 ... bmRsfgswJQ

Wed Apr 28, 2021 11:22 am