It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:40 am

Practice for the Stickless 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Practice for the Stickless
I know there are a number of us waiting patiently for our first Sticks to arrive, and wanted to share an exercise I've been doing that I'm hoping will help with that hand-independence that I hear is such a stumbling block.

I'm not sure if this is "Greg Howard Approved", or if it seems to be working only for me because I've been studying drums for a couple of years but give it a try and see what you think.

Let me start by saying that for this to work you MUST count out the rhythms:
Eighth notes:
1 & 2 & 3 & 4 &
Sixteenth notes:
1 e & u 2 e & u 3 e & u 4 e & u
Triplets (usually how drummers & guitarists count 12/8):
1 & u 2 & u 3 & u 4 & u

I don't think I could have gotten this going without actually counting out loud. So far, I've been keeping myself challenged with straight 4/4 rhythms, but depending on how long we have until we get our Sticks, there's no reason not to try this with 6/8, 3/4, 12/8 even "odd" time signatures like 5/4 or 7/8.

While sitting at a desk or other flat surface, start by tapping out a quarter-note groove with your left hand. At first, I found myself doing a regular pattern - 1st, 2nd, ring finger, or the reverse, ring, 2nd, 1st finger - but eventually was able to do this while varying the pattern 1-3-2-3-1-2-1-3-3-2-1-3 etc.

Next, keep that quarter-note rhythm going with the left hand, and start tapping out a rhythm with the right hand. Initially, of course you'll mirror the quarter-note pattern that you're motoring with your left hand, but eventually you can start to syncopate the right hand; hitting some eighth notes in addition to, or (more difficult), instead of the quarter-notes.

Once you can do this, devise a simple "cadence" for the right hand, something like:

(1) u (2) 3 & 4 &