It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 9:59 pm

thinking about changing to Dual Bass Reciprocal.... 

Post thinking about changing to Dual Bass Reciprocal....
Hi Folks!
I'm a Newbie stick owner (just acquired a nice used 36" purple heart 10 string with midi).
My history: I've been playing guitar and some bass for 30 some years, (Prog, metal, and hard rock) I'm self taught, mostly play by ear or compose my own stuff. I've taken some piano lessons a few years back because I needed too,,, so I understood what's up a tad better.
any way - now I have a new tool.
Wondering about tunings, I just set this 10 up with classic tuning. was thinking about taking some book and video lessons to get familiar with the hands and some chords, then i saw a video of Greg H. plaving 2 handed bass runs with Dual Bass Reciprocal, and thought !! , that's the direction I want to go. So (I think) I need to practice the hand positions ( um, stay in standard tuning for this?) then use the Stick in more of a bass with the sticks deep notes with attack sounds.
Anyone been down this path?
Should i look at an NS?

thanks
Randy

Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:02 am
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: thinking about changing to Dual Bass Reciprocal....
DBR is definitely really cool - I ordered my 10 String with DBR and that's what I play in the bass role. I am working on my Tony Levin two-handed funky bass style. That sounds like what you are talking about.

DBR has some very cool geometric symmetry which is awesome in its own right. It's a great option is you really want to occupy the low end.