It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 5:02 am

Tablature software for Stick? 

Post Tablature software for Stick?
Is anybody using tablature software for the Stick? I mean applications such as Guitar Pro (commercial) or TuxGuitar (open source, supports many of the GP formats). While both of these applications allow you to do things such as changing the tuning on the instruments you use (assigning any note to any single string), they both have an artificial limit on the number of strings (7 or 8, depending on the case)

In my particular case I don't do much composition, but I like tablature software for two main reasons: 1) reading music, and 2) using the "scales" feature, which is very cool when you are trying to identify patterns for finger positions based on a scale (I'm attaching a screenshot with Guitar Pro's version of this feature)

Attachment:
Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 10.38.12.png

I'm a software engineer, and I'm wondering if it might be worthwhile extending something like TuxGuitar and adding such a feature. Thoughts?

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Black Railboard #6760, black and gold tuners, aqua inlays

Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:55 am
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post Re: Tablature software for Stick?
I don't use tab a whole lot, but I use MuseScore quite a bit, and from what I've seen, it handles tab pretty well. It might be worth checking out. Up to 14 strings per instrument, but you only need 5 or 6 (define two instruments and display both).

I don't think there's any scale features as shown in your screen shot like GP or Tuxguitar has, though.

Bamboo Grand #7363 MR ACTV2, Tarara Grand #5677 MR PASV4
Tap In Time Podcast: tapintime.podbean.com/

Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:58 pm

Gusset wrote: