It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 7:20 am

First stick recommendation? 

Post First stick recommendation?
Hi, I was thinking of getting my first stick so I've been browsing the available ones on stick.com, and I found two: the Grand Stick (I'm going for 12 strings) and the Railboard. I've looked at them and their description, and also looked a bit online but really the only difference I could understand is that one is made of metal and the other of wood.

What are their pros and cons, especially for a complete beginner? This is not my first instrument, I also play bass. But when it comes to sticks I have no experience. Any help?

Sun Jan 22, 2023 1:41 am
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Post Re: First stick recommendation?
Hi SP.

You’re gonna get plenty of advice up in here…
What do you want in your hands. Wood or metal?

I’ve got a Railboard and a graphite. They both have a character of their own. The sound is almost all about the pickup, so start there. I like the Railboard as it’s an engineering marvel. The new EMG pick up has an amazing tone, it has more “air” in it than some pickups, to my ears anyway.
Still, the original sound or DNA of the stick is the stickup.

Some of the new woods look awesome.. Have fun searching for your instrument.

https://www.facebook.com/stickradmusic/
https://www.facebook.com/southernstickevents/

Sun Jan 22, 2023 2:11 am
Profile My Photo Gallery
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

I like the original 'StickUp' pickup the best, on my 1978 Vintage Stick.

#404 Stick - (1978) Angico hard wood.
#6460 Railboard - Black with glow inlays.

Sun Jan 22, 2023 2:59 am

Thank you both for the quick answers!

Stickrad wrote:

I've only ever played my bass which is wood, so I don't really know what a metal instrument feels like, that's what I was the most unsure about. Which one feels better to you? Also, do they differ in any other way when playing?

Stickrad wrote:
it has more "air" in it than some pickups

What do you mean?