It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 5:17 am

Advantages of 12 strings 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Advantages of 12 strings
I currently have two10-string Sticks, a Matched Reciprocal Railboard and a rosewood in Baritone Melody.

It occurred to me that if I “trade” these both for a 12-string model, that I may be able to play my (limited) repertoire on a single instrument rather than having to switch back-and-forth between the two of them.

True? If I were to do this, what would folks advise as the preferred tuning to specify to make for an easy transition from what I’m playing now?

Thanks!

Rosewood #1027 Baritone Melody, StickUps
Blue Railboard #7228 Matched Reciprocal, EMG block

Thu Jun 22, 2023 12:49 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Advantages of 12 strings
SteveS wrote:
f I were to do this, what would folks advise as the preferred tuning to specify to make for an easy transition from what I’m playing now?

As you are well aware I'm no expert, but I do observe that Baritone Melody is the 'inner 10' of Classic 12. So if you used Classic 12, your inner 10 would be in the same relationship as you are used to on the Rosewood, plus an extra higher string on each outer edge.

Just a thought...

Bamboo Grand 12 2024 #7472 Stickup Low Xtnd Classic Melody (Outer 5ths)
Bamboo Grand 12 2009 #5826 PASV4 Low Xtnd Classic Melody (Outer 5ths)
Graphite 10 2009 #5862 PASV4 Classic

Thu Jun 22, 2023 1:36 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

SteveS wrote:
I currently have two10-string Sticks, a Matched Reciprocal Railboard and a rosewood in Baritone Melody.

It occurred to me that if I “trade” these both for a 12-string model, that I may be able to play my (limited) repertoire on a single instrument rather than having to switch back-and-forth between the two of them.

True? If I were to do this, what would folks advise as the preferred tuning to specify to make for an easy transition from what I’m playing now?

Thanks!