It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:33 am

Adding fretboard markers 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Adding fretboard markers
As a new Stick player coming from bass guitar, I find that I miss the fretboard markers I'm used to... so I added some to my Railboard today. Since I've got my instrument tuned to Matched Reciprocal, this will give me some familiar guideposts to help with finger placement and note acquisition.

Training wheels, yes, but for now I want to make the learning curve a bit less steep.

The only thing I don't love about the Railboard is that the frets are the same color as the fingerboard, which makes them hard to see sometimes. Also, the original owner of my instrument opted for silver sparkle inlays, which are kind of dark.

Since I'm still a beginner, I'm relying a lot on my eyes because muscle memory regarding hand position isn't quite there yet... so some added visual reference points ought to help.

My bass doesn't have a marker at fret 2, of course, but the others are all the same as on my guitar: frets 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 15 and 17. I don't think they'd do much good above that.

Materials are some Brother pTouch 9mm plastic label tape that I had on hand, which I used to cover the inlays and make them more visible. The lines are 3mm plastic violin fingerboard tape.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Thu Dec 14, 2023 2:52 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Adding fretboard markers
adouglas wrote:
Training wheels, yes, but for now I want to make the learning curve a bit less steep.

Seems like a good idea to me, and positively restrained compared to what I added to my first Stick! https://www.stickist.com/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=16141 :) That Ironwood has now gone to a new home (with its stickers).

My graphite 10 now has individual position markers, but does still have sticker based linear inlays to supplement it's original 'dots'.