It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:40 am

Classic vs. Baritone melody on a 10 string 

Post Classic vs. Baritone melody on a 10 string
I played Baritone Melody for almost 12 years (I mostly played the "bass" or "keyboard" role when I would play in a group setting). I started playing more "guitar" parts when I started playing with the jazz group I've been jamming with. The main reason for the switch back to standard was to get up into the higher register for solos (at the request of the other band members), but I'm finding as I get readjusted to the standard tuning I'm REALLY missing that bottom C# on the melody side when I'm comping. I also find myself rarely taking advantage of the extra top range.
I'm considering going back to Baritone Melody but I wanted to check and see if there was
an option that I hadn't considered (Like a 6-4 split?) -OR- can somebody give me a compelling argument as to the advantage of staying with the standard tuning?

Wed May 19, 2010 10:02 am
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Classic vs. Baritone melody on a 10 string
Maybe 12 strings will do the trick? And you can always go for a 5/7 split... Just an idea.

Cheers, Daniel.

Wed May 19, 2010 12:27 pm
Site Donor
Site Donor

When I play the high D string, notes often get confused for harmonics. There's just a certain ring to it. At first it bothered me a bit; this high string that seems almost "detached" from the rest of the instrument in terms of pitch and tension. These days I can't even drop a whole tone to MR without missing it. I also like to slide octaves on the high strings over bass notes, and play barred "funk chords" in 4ths which just sound better to me in the higher register. But it all depends on what you play & what to hear from the instrument. Maybe 12 is the next step?

Cheers,
Andy

http://andysalvanos.com/

Wed May 19, 2010 4:22 pm
Site Donor
Site Donor

"When I play the high D string, notes often get confused for harmonics"