It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:00 am

Questions and Comparisons for a complete newb 

Post Questions and Comparisons for a complete newb
Hello all.

My background is computer programming and other nerdy past times -- not music.. In fact, I haven't done anything musical since middle school (well over 20 years ago) and I am interested.

I have always wanted to play an instrument of some sort and I find its about time.. The style, sound and versatility of the stick really appeals to me.

I'm worried though that for a complete novice like myself who has virtually zero training and experience, I might be trying to bite off more than I can chew.. Is the Chapman stick something that I can pickup as a novice and learn or would I be better served getting a classical guitar and playing on that first?

I posted basically this exact question on my blog and got a comment from Traktor Topaz almost immediately about his Megatar.

He had this to say;

Quote:
you could get a Mobius Megatar touchstyle guitar which would have some features not available on the roughly-equivalent 12-string Chapman Grand Stick. ... your learning speed approximately double that of learning the pat-your-head and rub-your-tummy chapman tunings which are different on the bass and the melody strings.

Would the Megatar be something better for a novice such as myself? He made a good point in that the sticks do seem very expensive.. However I'm a firm believer in that you get what you pay for.. (Also note I'm NOT trying to start a holy war here.. and I fully understand that Traktor was trying to be a good salesman.. if a little heavy handed..)

Your advice and opinions are welcome.. Thanks every one.

-pal

Tue Jul 08, 2008 6:45 pm
Contributor
Contributor

Post Re: Questions and Comparisons for a complete newb
Hi Pal,

Our friend Qua Veda had a similar experience when he was considering learning a musical instrument. Read about his journey here:

http://www.stick.com/articles/veda_experience/