It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:57 pm

Greetings from Kentucky 

Post Greetings from Kentucky
Hello Stickists,
I'm a retired attorney, and UMC worship leader, from a river town on the northern border of Kentucky about an hour east of Cincinnati. I'm a keyboardist, who happens to play bass.
I discovered the Stick last Friday while viewing antique and ancient instruments on YouTube...not that the Stick antique or ancient but a video of Mark White performing on the street in 2016 popped up. I was immediately enthralled by the sound, his style, and the instrument, which is something I've imagined in my wildest dreams ever since I started playing bass. Little did I know that something so like what I've imagined has been around since I was in high school. (I reiterate the statement that I do not consider the Stick to be antique or ancient!)
After a weekend of immersive study, contemplation, self-examination, and CoVid induced cabin fever, I designed an instrument for myself with the advice and counsel of numerous Stickists online, and placed my order this evening.
Now face the task of sitting back and reminding myself that patience is a virtue as I start to teach myself to play the thing in my head over the next many weeks it takes to receive it at long last.

Skype Me™!

Tue Jul 21, 2020 5:05 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Greetings from Kentucky
Welcome,and enjoy the journey.

Tue Jul 21, 2020 6:10 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Steve Z!

Welcome welcome!

You know it's an interesting time for new stickists, the long wait before the instrument arrives. What instrument have you decided on?

The reason I ask, is that you can look at the stick tuning diagrams and begin to visualise simple shapes like a scale or basic triads. If your brain can naturally make that conceptual jump, then it may be of help.

Many musicians talk about mental practice as being an important part of their musical lives...