It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 6:31 pm

Hello Hello 

Post Hello Hello
Hi Folks,

My name is Matthew and I am a newbie (am I ever!). I just ordered a used stick from Emmett yesterday and it should arrive in a few weeks- Grand Stick, Padauk, Classic Tuning, MIDI on the melody side. :D

So I wasn't kidding when I said I was a newbie. I've no formal music training and the stick will be my first instrument. Nothing like diving into the deep end, eh? :shock:

My musical tastes are pretty varied (pop, rock, metal, grunge, punk, funk, folk, flamenco, classical, world music, new age, and whatever else gets my attention).

Anyway, I look forward to many virtual meetings and who knows, maybe I'll be able to swing by a Stick seminar sometime.

Happy Friday,

-m.

Fri Feb 04, 2011 4:39 am
Resident Contributor
Resident Contributor

Post Re: Hello Hello
Hello, Matthew, and welcome! :)

I have also started my musical training with the Stick (played guitar a little before, but without any music theory knowledge), sooo.. "diving the deep end" is not impossible :mrgreen:

Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:02 am
Profile My Photo Gallery
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Welcome, Matthew!

I've been playing Stick for 4 years and I still feel like a newbie sometimes. If you can make it to a seminar you would love it and it would help immensely. The Interlochen workshop this summer with Bob Culbertson, Greg Howard, and Glenn Poorman would be fantastic. Don't think that you have to know something to attend, there will be beginner sessions that will set you in the right direction and you will avoid bad habits that would have to be unlearned. It's also great to meet other Stick players.

Hope to meet you at a seminar someday.

-Eric

Rosewood SG12 #5966, Mirrored 4ths
Twitter: @ejknapp
http://ericjknapp.com

Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:30 am
Profile My Photo Gallery

Hey Guys,