It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:23 am

Beginner amplification 

Post Beginner amplification
Hey Folks - I am a newbie to this Forum and considering purchasing a 10-string Stick. I am coming from an acoustic music background and have no experience yet with pre-amps, guitar amps, bass amps, and other gizmos on the electric sound side. I would appreciate any equipment recommendations for getting started. I am just looking for a home system for practicing - something that is not overly expensive (after I get over paying for the stick), but will do the job for awhile.

I'm also considering getting a midi pickup installed and would like to interface with GarageBand and other tools, but I can take this one step at a time...

My first experience with a Stick was seeing a college band back in the mid-80's and it is one of those things that left a lasting impression. I had no idea there was this thriving community until a few days ago. Very cool and fun to learn about! Thanks, Win

Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:52 am
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post Re: Beginner amplification
Very good question. I can speak in some general terms, but I'll leave it to the more experienced Stickists here to comment on specifics.

As a Stick covers far more range that a guitar, smaller practice amps for guitar may not really be up for the task (or at least would be pretty unsatisfying). You could, I guess, get a pair of small practice amps too - one for bass & one for guitar - and that would probably work pretty well.

Another way to approach it might be to find a used keyboard amp, which would have multiple inputs so you could plug in the bass & melody sides separately, blending them on the amp, and is usually designed to cover a broader frequency range. You can find these for around $100 and up, usually.