It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:42 pm

The Gear Rabbit Hole... 
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Post The Gear Rabbit Hole...
I was just wondering if anyone else has ever looked at the receipts for their gear purchases and been somewhat horrified ( :D Yes, you pedal guys - I am looking at you!) I know I was, and that's just from January and I am STILL not done...

This year was for me, somewhat of a complete studio upgrade. (House payment worth probably) I have no problem spending money on new gear, but each "thing" needs to "earn it's keep" if it wants to live with me, and as well it has to be "long-term useful" haha

Anybody find that board constructing, pedal tweaking, button mashing, and dial turning actually detracts from playing time? Me, I kind of create a tone and then just keep using it...

Anyways, thoughts?

Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:58 am
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: The Gear Rabbit Hole...
well,
I'm still pretty new to it all (I was tlking to gene about my restart...like so many I think I had to go through the process of letting go what a stick isn't)

but I've certainly had that with guitar...I come from a classic[al] guit background which had some interesting effects

I could actually get older pitch-to-glitch synths to track....somewhat

"regular" guitar effects were never voiced for what I wanted and I played with more polyphony (many phony notes!!!) which created challenges requiring quite a bit of attention.

It seems like I either liked fairly heavily treated sounds or fairly natural ones.

and yes, it often seemed to get in the way...I seem to remember many times when internally I would think "OK, now I've got some real work to do, turn all that shit off...I need some room to play this thing"
In that sense, It reminds me of what Greg Howard relates about not wanting to be a "stick operator"

then again there were times when I certain sound would lead to a new avenue