It is currently Thu May 02, 2024 8:44 am

Inexpensive Practice Amps? 

Post Inexpensive Practice Amps?
Hello All,

Happy Friday!

Ok, let me first put this inquiry in context.

I'm a newbie. My used stick is on order, due in a couple of weeks, and it will be my first instrument, ever. I have no formal music training. My range of musical tastes and influences are diverse (see my intro post if you like).

I've waded through a lot of great info on this site regarding amps and people's various set ups, but most of you are operating way over my head and many times well beyond my budget. Yeah, Rob Martino's used amp looks sweet, but ... and never mind those PJ's for 10k.

So here's the question:

What are people's recommendations for an inexpensive (say < $300 delivered), single practice amp?

I'm talking about a beginner's amp just for solo practice, 10-15 watts (I'm not looking to annoy all the neighbors, yet, nor am I looking to jam with others or play out). I don't expect super high fidelity, but I do want something that gives clean and honest sound, doing justice to the low end of the base, as well as the mids and highs of the melody side. And yes, I do want the option to add some nice, crunchy distortion when I want.

I appreciate your ideas and feedback.

Grazie! :D

-m.

Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:09 am
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Post Re: Inexpensive Practice Amps?
Buy a small keyboard amp with at least two inputs and if possible a little reverb. Great for at home practicing and being full range it's all you'll need. Roland is great but check what ever is available on line and you're local music store. For $300 (or less) you'll find a good amp for your current situation.

http://www.rayrlmusic.com
http://www.myspace.com/raylavigne

Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:50 am
Profile My Photo Gallery

Location: From far away as Jupiter sulfur mines, way down by the methane sea.
I started with a used SWR workingman 10....bought for $200.