It is currently Fri May 31, 2024 10:55 pm

Are Studio Monitors Good For Stick Playing/Practice? 
Contributor
Contributor

Post Are Studio Monitors Good For Stick Playing/Practice?
....and if so, which ones? I was thinking of springing for some mid range monitors like the Yamaha MSP7s or the HS8s in order to have more fun with my audio programs like Ableton and Reason. The only non-virtual thing that I have to deal with is the Stick itself.

I've been running the Stick into an M-Audio FireWire 400 and then using high-end headphones, but I'd like to take a break from wearing hot itchy cans for awhile. :)

Any thoughts? I'm just starting out on my audio adventure, so keeping things modest for now.

10-String Grand Stick #5466

Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:12 am
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post Re: Are Studio Monitors Good For Stick Playing/Practice?
:? Keeping things modest? :evil: ;) Hey, a good friend of mine "G Stone" picked up a couple of Mackies used for a really good price. I was very skeptical, not because it was 'Mackie' but because he got such a good deal :|. Well, I was blown away by how good they sounded...

Here is a link for some discussion: http://www.digitaldjtips.com/2012/07/ov ... pa-system/

Just for practice you can get away with a lot of different setups but if you are using Ableton
you would want something as full range as possible and with a software setup like that
you might find your self playing out sooner than you think as opposed to playing solo Stick;
Ableton, Push, and Stick all synced up would be very cool 8-) or :twisted: ...

Just another idea, I know Bob Culbertson often uses a single powered monitor.
I think he is a good example :shock: . So, if it's budget that is a concern getting one
good monitor and saving up for the next one over time might be a plan...

jRj
:geek:

http://jrjwhatifthepaintingshadsongs.tumblr.com/

Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:35 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor