It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 9:20 am

"Full Range" Bass Amp? (but still a bass amp) 

Post "Full Range" Bass Amp? (but still a bass amp)
I am a happy newbie Stickist! (Ouch, I've already found muscles in my right hand/wrist I did not know I had). Gear question! (and yes I read the amazing looooong sticky "gig rig" thread - you guys are something else!! Love it!)

We play bass and guitar here and I am a complete tone junky. I have a few boutique tube guitar amps that have amazing tube tone. (Namely a Splawn Street Rod I use in my performing band) and a Goodsell Mark IV - loud and glassy clean with a 3-position midrange..amazing!). Now, ignore the fact I have guitar amps for a second...as they stay in a practice location or in our PA trailer.

My son plays/reads bass and we have a simple practice amp that is woefully inadequate.

Heres the Q: I am reading through the threads here and see some of you use a mini-mixer to sum the stereo out to 2 mono outputs from a Stickup, then run to a single amp; keyboard, PA or Bass rig. Makes sense to me.

We have to get a new bass amp anyway. I am not so experienced with buying bass rigs - I am wondering if there is such a thing as a "full range" bass amp solution I can use with both our Fender Jazz and the Stick. Ideally, I would be able to pass through my Line6 POD HDPro or my guitar effects on the melody side before I go into the mixer - then sum to this single amp solution. Combo preferred, portability a must.

Sound like that would work? Hey, I need a bass amp either way! What am I looking for?

Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:48 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: "Full Range" Bass Amp? (but still a bass amp)