It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 7:01 am

frets on the NS Stick 

Post frets on the NS Stick
Hello,

I've got a question for you Stick players: why doesn't the NS Stick have the fret rails like the other Sticks? Is there a disadvantage with these frets for plucking techniques? Does the fact that it's got bass guitar frets make it harder to tap on the NS?

Thanks,
Alex

Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:05 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: frets on the NS Stick
Alex,

I have both. I've been playing Stick for almost 6 years, and NS for about a month.

My guess is that the NS necks come from Moses already fretted. It really is an 8 string NS bass adapted for two handed tapping, (split pickups, and ability to hang vertically). Works well as a hybrid fingerstyle bass and baritone guitar.

If a Stick is 100% easy to tap, and NS is 85% easy to tap (to me anyway). The melody strings on the NS are a heavier gauge, and the action is not quite as low, but it is amazingly easy to tap.

I now play both on a daily basis, and switching between them is simple.

Hope this helps,
Lee

Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:48 pm
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

LJones wrote:
Alex,

I have both. I've been playing Stick for almost 6 years, and NS for about a month.

My guess is that the NS necks come from Moses already fretted. It really is an 8 string NS bass adapted for two handed tapping, (split pickups, and ability to hang vertically). Works well as a hybrid fingerstyle bass and baritone guitar.

If a Stick is 100% easy to tap, and NS is 85% easy to tap (to me anyway). The melody strings on the NS are a heavier gauge, and the action is not quite as low, but it is amazingly easy to tap.

I now play both on a daily basis, and switching between them is simple.

Hope this helps,
Lee

I think one reason it has normal frets is because it's also meant to be played as a bass or guitar and the normal frets make it more "guitar" like.

http://www.rayrlmusic.com
http://www.myspace.com/raylavigne