It is currently Sat Jun 15, 2024 11:57 pm

A learning moment for me 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post A learning moment for me
Sometimes inspiration and clarity comes from surprising sources. My younger daughter is starting on guitar and she wants me to be her teacher. If we can make it work I'll love it, but, it's going to take a bit of effort, I think.

One of our first struggles is that at 9 she doesn't want to play slow and build up speed with an exercise. She just wants to PLAY FAST RIGHT NOW! After we went around and around with this we quit for lunch. We were all discussing this and I was trying to come up with ways to explain this to her. This is something that I struggle with, too. As I learn Stick I didn't want to have to go back to the beginning and start with slow exercises and a metronome. I thought I could just skip a few things and get going since I was a pretty good guitarist. Silly me.

I was getting nowhere with my daughter, she was fighting everything I said. In walks my other daughter. She's a percussionist in the HS band and a big influence on her young sister. She heard what we were talking about and could hear that we were both frustrated. She chimed in.

"Music is like a video game, Kelsey." she said. "If you want to play on level 2 then you need to beat level 1 first."

This shut both of us up and as I was letting that sink she continued, unprompted.

"I have beaten all level 9 characters in Mario Smash Brothers by first fighting all the characters on level 1, then level 2, and so on up to level 9. The early levels were really easy and I could have skipped them. But, I learned so much doing it that way that I beat every level 9 character the first time I fought them."