It is currently Sat Jun 15, 2024 10:46 pm

Why I went and got me one of these things 

Post Why I went and got me one of these things
When I was 16, my tech teacher gave me a King Crimson DVD. I was haplessly intrigued by the strange instrument Tony Levin was playing.

Now, I'm 19 and working, and have ordered me a stick. No, its not a chapman stick. Its a custom build by a small luthier. After a few years, if the playing gets serious enough, I'll happily invest in a REAL stick.

I have been playing guitar for 6 years and have been dabbling in piano off and on for a while as well. I sought to combine the two.

I plan on using my stick for progressive/avant-garde metal. I hope to get a new generation into sitcks :mrgreen:

Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:42 pm
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Post Re: Why I went and got me one of these things
leftyguitarjoe wrote:
When I was 16, my tech teacher gave me a King Crimson DVD. I was haplessly intrigued by the strange instrument Tony Levin was playing.

Now, I'm 19 and working, and have ordered me a stick. No, its not a chapman stick. Its a custom build by a small luthier. After a few years, if the playing gets serious enough, I'll happily invest in a REAL stick.

I have been playing guitar for 6 years and have been dabbling in piano off and on for a while as well. I sought to combine the two.

I plan on using my stick for progressive/avant-garde metal. I hope to get a new generation into sitcks :mrgreen:

1st ... let me welcome you to the forum and to "tapping." :)

2nd ... I hope your tapping instrument is great but others have produced well made tap instruments and none play or sound like a Stick. So if it's not quite what you expected please don't assume the Stick would be the same. Emmett IS the master and creator and the only Stick IS a Stick made by Stick Enterprises. (I personally owned a different brand ... well made, not crap, but NOT the same and IMO not in the same league!)