It is currently Mon Jun 17, 2024 5:09 am

How much?, and What Are you practicing? 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post How much?, and What Are you practicing?
I’m always curious how others approach learning this instrument and music in general.

For me in the past 35 years I’ve rarely practiced less than 2 hours per day (for me a necessary discipline). And I have always had ear training as part of my practice and repertoire building (remembering) so ...,,. Songs.

What do you guys do?

Brett

Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:30 am
Profile My Photo Gallery
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: How much?, and What Are you practicing?
Greetings... I practice a regiment in the early mornings focusing on warm-up exercises, the Family, triad, and polychords, application of theory, learning notes on every string and learning songs. I am studying at the moment with SteveA which, is really helping me with harmony and melody. GregH is another of my main teachers. both these cats of different and unique ways of approach and technique.
I am into West African music, so I also try to learn some kora, Kamel ngoni patterns, playing in 7/8 and also studying djembe and hand drumming patterns for tapping.

Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:11 am
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

about 1-2 hrs a day..more hrs on weekends/holidays

going through songs i know and expand my setlist

since i get bored easily by exercises , I try to find "exercise" that are actually songs , by learning more challenging songs which use more chord progression or use not "unusual" chords like aug/sus/dim etc..

#7159, Grand Railboard,Plum,
RMR tuning, MIDI melody.
Manufactured Dec. 2018

#2001,10 strings Shedua, MR tuning
Stickup, Fretrails
Manufactured March 2002

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqqNYL ... JdyVB5aBZQ

Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:20 am
Master Contributor
Master Contributor