It is currently Mon Jun 17, 2024 2:44 am

A trick that helps me 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post A trick that helps me
Well not a trick really, but here's something I do to help me tie the melody side to the bass side.

I'm relatively new to the stick; 1.5 yrs, so I don't have much material right now but the songs I know have been put together by learning both parts and then just playing the bass part alone to get the motor going. When I'm comfy with the pattern I SING the melody part over top the bass part before trying to put the two together. After I'm comfy singing the melody over the bass part I will try and mimic my voice with my right hand. Initially I was having a hard time co-ordinating my hands, but I think this method helps me to speed up the learning process.
I learned "scarbourough fair" (thanks greg) this way and am currently working on Dave Tiptons "Just the way you are".
It takes me months to put a tune together and months more to get it sounding relatively clean, but I don't have deadlines.......

Does anyone else use the "sing/hum" method when learning new stuff? I would be interested to hear....

Cheers,
Kev

Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:44 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery
Contributor
Contributor

Post A trick that helps me
Thanks, sounds like a good approach.

Thu Jun 07, 2012 3:12 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: A trick that helps me
Hey Kev,

Whatever works for you is the best way. I'm exactly the opposite. I've always been a stronger melody (right hand) player on keyboards, so I tend to play that first and then add bass. I like the sing along approach though.. Very innovative.

Jimi

Thu Jun 07, 2012 4:02 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery
Site Donor
Site Donor

That sounds like something worth trying.

Thanks for sharing it, Kev.

Bamboo Grand #7363 MR ACTV2, Tarara Grand #5677 MR PASV4
Tap In Time Podcast: tapintime.podbean.com/

Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:34 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor